Get Protection + Monthly Income after Retirement

Income tax act 1961

Jan 24, 2019 | 12 months ago | Read Time: 4 minutes | By iKnowledge Team

Introduction to Income Tax Act

Income tax as a concept has been present in India for many years, but James Wilson who became India’s first finance (British) member introduced the first modern Income Tax Act in 1860. “It was only for the good of his subjects that he collected taxes from them, just as the Sun draws moisture from the Earth to give it back a thousand fold,” wrote Kalidas in his epic poem Raghuvansh.

income tax act 1961

What is Income Tax?

Income tax in India is a tax you pay to the government based on your income (and profit, in the case of companies). The government uses this tax money for various purposes including public services, infrastructure development, defence spending and subsidies among other options. If you earn income beyond a certain limit, it is mandatory to pay income tax every year.

Income Tax Act 1961

The Income Tax Act is a comprehensive statute that focuses on the different rules and regulations that govern taxation in the country. It provides for levying, administering, collecting and recoveringincome tax for the Indian government. It was enacted in 1961.

The Income Tax Act contains a total of 23 chapters and 298 sections according to the official website of the Income Tax Department of India[1]. These different sections deal with various aspects of taxation in India. The various heads for which you have to pay income tax include:

  1. Salary
  2. Income from house property
  3. Capital gains
  4. Profit and gains from business or profession
  5. Income from other sources

Every year, the Indian government presents a finance budget during the month of February. The budget brings in various amendments to the Income Tax Act. This includes changes in tax slabs wherever applicable. For example, the Finance Minister announced that the tax rate for individuals in the lowest tax bracket of Rs. 2.5 lakh to 5 lakh would be cut from 10% to 5% in FY2017. Similarly, tax on Long Term Capital Gains (LTCG) was re-introduced during the FY2018 budget. As a result, all gains greater than Rs. 1 lakh from shares and equity mutual funds held longer than one year is now eligible for LTCG tax at 10%.

Such amendments become a part of the Income Tax Act from the following financial year (beginning from 1st April) following the approval from the President of India.

Who are income taxpayers in India?

Every Indian citizen has to pay income tax if their annual income is above Rs. 2.5 lakh (Rs. 3 lakh for senior citizens). In addition to individuals, entities such as Hindu Undivided Family (HUF), Body of Individuals (BOI), corporate firms, companies, Artificial Juridical Persons, local authorities and Association of Persons (AOP) also pay income tax.

6.84 crore people filed Income Tax Returns (ITRs) during FY2017-18. This resulted in net direct tax collections of Rs. 9.95 lakh crore for the year. This was 17.1% higher than the collections for the previous year according to the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT).

Income tax slab rates

The income tax you pay depends on your annual income. The tax slab rates are categorised in the following way:

For individuals below 60 years

Income tax slabs

Income tax rates

Less than Rs. 2.5 lakh

No taxation

Between Rs. 2.5 lakh and Rs. 5 lakh

5% of total income exceeding Rs. 2.5 lakh + 4% cess

Between Rs. 5 lakh and Rs. 10 lakh

Rs. 12,500 + 20%of total income exceeding Rs. 5 lakh + 4% cess

Above Rs. 10 lakh

Rs. 1,12,500 + 30% of total income exceeding 10 lakh + 4% cess

For individuals above 60 years

Income tax slabs

Income tax rates

Less than Rs. 3 lakh

No taxation

Between Rs. 3 lakh and Rs. 5 lakh

5% of total income exceeding Rs. 3 lakh + 4% cess

Between Rs. 5 lakh and Rs. 10 lakh

Rs. 10,000 + 20% of total income exceeding Rs. 5 lakh + 4% cess

Above Rs. 10 lakh

Rs. 1,10,000 + 30% of total income exceeding 10 lakh + 4% cess

Deductions under Income Tax Act 1961

According to the Income Tax Act 1961, you can claim deductions under the following sections:

  1. Section 80C to 80: Under Section 80C, 80CCC & 80CCD of the Income Tax Act 1961, you can reduce your taxable income by 1,50,000
  2. Section 80CCD: Section 80CCD of the Income Tax Act, 1961 focuses on income tax deductions that individual income tax assesses are eligible to avail on contributions made towards the New Pension Scheme (NPS) and Atal Pension Yojana (APY)
  3. Section 80D: Under section 80D, you can claim income tax deduction for medical expenses and health insurance premiums
  4. Section 80DD: Tax deduction under Section 80DD of the Income Tax Act can be claimed by individuals who are residents of India and HUFs for the medical treatment of a dependant with disability(ies) or differently abled
  5. Section 80DDB: Tax deductions under section 80DDB of Income Tax Act 1961 can be claimed for medical expenses incurred for medical treatment of specific illnesses
  6. Section 80TTA: Section 80TTA provides a deduction of Rs 10,000 on interest income. This deduction is available to an Individual and HUF.
  7. Section 80U: Under Section 80U, physically disabled persons can claim deductions up to Rs.1,00,000.


The Indian government reduced the tax rate for people earning between Rs. 2.5 lakh to Rs. 5 lakh, from 10% to 5%, during the FY2017 Union budget. This was aimed to reduce the tax liability for a large percentage of the Indian population as well as encourage a greater number of income earners to pay tax. So, if you are eligible to pay tax, ensure you pay your taxes and file returns in time to avoid any penalties.


iTerm Plan

Life Insurance Plan with 3 Options to Choose from

  • Life Protect (Life cover till age 100 years)
  • Protect Plus (5% Automatic Increase of life cover)
  • Dual Protect (Protection + Regular Income)
iTerm Plus Plan

Life Insurance Plan with 4 Options to Choose from

  • Life Plan
  • Life Plus Plan
  • Life & Health Plan (10 Critical Illnesses covered)
  • Life & Health Plus Plan (36 Critical Illnesses covered)
iInvest Plan

iInvest Plan with 3 Options to Choose from

  • Increases Your Investment
  • Boost Your Fund Value
  • Withdraw Your Investment
Save tax up to 46,800*.
Calculate your Premium!
Do You Smoke?

Date of Birth

Your Monthly Premium for Aegon Life iTerm Insurance Plan